← All posts

Golden Visa through property in Dubai (2026): minimum value, rules and how to apply

15 October 2026 · 19 min read · Thalhath Shah, Real Estate CRM Consultant

Golden Visa through property in Dubai 2026: 10-year residence permit for AED 2 million in property, DLD fees AED 9,884.75

Quick answer: The Golden Visa through property in Dubai is a 10-year renewable residence permit for anyone who owns Dubai property worth at least AED 2 million, in one or several title deeds under their own name. Mortgaged homes qualify with a bank letter showing AED 2 million paid. The Dubai Land Department lists total fees of AED 9,884.75 and 7 to 10 working days.

Key takeaways

  • The threshold for the golden visa property route is AED 2 million, and it can be one property or several, as long as they are in the applicant's name (Dubai Land Department, October 2026).
  • A mortgage does not rule you out, but DLD's service page asks for a bank letter showing an AED 2 million paid amount and the bank's no objection. Half paid on a AED 2.5 million flat is not enough.
  • Joint owners each need a share worth AED 2 million or more (GDRFA). Spouses can share one property, and one spouse applies and sponsors the other (Cube Centre).
  • Off-plan counts when the units total AED 2 million and come from a developer approved by the local authority (ICP). How much must be paid first is not stated on the DLD page: check before promising.
  • Fees on the DLD page total AED 9,884.75 for the investor, with family permits on top. The applicant must be inside the UAE and attend in person.
  • The visa covers spouse, children and parents, and GDRFA says the property may not be disposed of during the residency.

Last checked: 12 October 2026.

Golden Visa property eligibility in Dubai: AED 2 million in your name, mortgage with AED 2 million paid, joint shares of AED 2 million each, off-plan from an approved developer

The golden visa property Dubai question comes up in almost every conversation with an overseas buyer at the AED 2 million mark and above. This guide sets out what the official pages say as of October 2026, where they disagree, and how an agent should answer without overpromising. Sources are the Dubai Land Department (DLD) and its Cube Centre, the federal ICP, Dubai's GDRFA and u.ae.

What is the Golden Visa for property owners in Dubai?

The Golden Visa for property owners is a long-term UAE residence permit issued to a foreigner because they own real estate of a set minimum value, with no employer or local sponsor needed. In Dubai, the real estate investor version is processed by the Dubai Land Department through its Cube centres, and the permit itself is issued by GDRFA.

DLD describes the service as a "10-year renewable residence permit" for investors whose property purchase value was AED 2 million or more at the time of purchase, and says the investor can sponsor a husband or wife, children and parents. ICP's Golden Residency Guide also gives 10 years for real estate investors.

Watch out: the federal portal u.ae (page updated 28 July 2026) still lists "5 years (real estate investments)" in its investor table. DLD, ICP and GDRFA all say 10 years for the Dubai real estate route, so use 10 years and point buyers to the DLD page.

What is the minimum property value for a Golden Visa in Dubai?

The minimum golden visa property value is AED 2 million. DLD's wording is that the property must be "wholly owned by the investor (one or more properties) under the name of the applicant". GDRFA's wording is "a property or a group of properties with a total value of no less than AED 2 million".

Three details matter in practice:

  • It is Dubai property for the Dubai service. Cube Centre's page says properties in other emirates and in DIFC are not accepted for the Dubai application.
  • The name must match. Cube says the applicant's name on the title deed must match the passport.
  • Purchase price or valuation. DLD's page talks about purchase value "at the time of purchase". Cube and GDRFA also accept a valuation: GDRFA says a property valuation certificate from an office licensed by DLD may be accepted, and Cube says a title deed owner qualifies if the market value exceeds AED 2 million, with an official evaluation certificate mandatory.

Golden visa property Dubai rules: who is eligible?

SituationEligible?What the official sources say
One ready property worth AED 2 million or more, fully paid, in your nameYesDLD: AED 2 million, wholly owned, one or more properties
Several properties adding up to AED 2 millionYesDLD and Cube: multiple properties in the applicant's name are accepted
Mortgaged propertyYes, with conditionsDLD: bank no-objection letter, and the letter must show an AED 2 million paid amount. GDRFA: a lien is placed on the property. ICP: loan must be from an approved local bank
Joint ownership with a partner who is not your spouseOnly if your share is AED 2 million or moreGDRFA and Cube: applicant's share must be at least AED 2 million
Husband and wife on one title deedYes, one appliesCube: under AED 4 million only one spouse applies and sponsors the other; marriage certificate attested and translated into Arabic
Off-plan propertyYes, with conditionsICP: units totalling AED 2 million from an approved developer. Cube: developer statement of account needed. Paid amount: not stated on DLD's page
Bought under AED 2 million, now worth morePossiblyGDRFA and Cube: a DLD-licensed valuation certificate may be accepted
Property in another emirate or DIFCNot through the Dubai serviceCube: only Dubai properties accepted
Applicant outside the UAENot at the application stageDLD and Cube: applicant must be inside the UAE

Can you get a Golden Visa with a mortgaged property in Dubai?

Yes, but the amount you have paid matters. DLD's service page says: "In the event that a mortgaged property, a bank letter indicating 2 million AED paid amount as a proof to be provided." Its service terms add that the bank must state it does not object to a residence permit being issued on the property.

Read together, that means the owner's paid equity, not just the purchase price, has to reach AED 2 million on a mortgaged home. GDRFA's service page says mortgaged property is acceptable and that a lien is placed on the property for the residency. ICP adds that the loan must come from an approved local bank.

There has been confusion about this since January 2024. The National reported then that brokers had heard the old down payment requirement (AED 1 million or 50% of the value) had been dropped, but DLD told the newspaper the criteria were unchanged at AED 2 million. In 2026, several property blogs repeat that payment stage no longer matters. The DLD service page, updated 7 October 2026, still asks for the AED 2 million paid letter, so that is the rule to work from.

Rule: on a mortgaged home, ask the buyer for their bank's latest statement of the amount paid. If it is under AED 2 million, do not tell them they qualify.

Does off-plan property qualify for the Golden Visa?

Off-plan property can qualify. ICP's Golden Residency Guide lists "one or more off-plan property units" with a total value of at least AED 2 million, bought from an approved local real estate company authorised by the competent local authority. In Dubai that means a developer and project registered with DLD, with the sale recorded in the off-plan register.

What the official pages do not settle is how much of the price must be paid first. DLD's investor service page does not mention off-plan at all. Cube asks for a "statement of account from developer or Bank NOC". Gulf News, reporting ICP's guidance in July 2025, described off-plan eligibility as needing "proof of payment completion". Press and broker reports in 2024 and 2026 say no minimum payment applies.

Because the sources disagree, the honest answer to an off-plan buyer is: the unit can count, the developer's statement of account will be checked, and the buyer should confirm with Cube (or the developer, if it handles Golden Visa applications for its buyers) before relying on the visa. For the rest of the off-plan process, see our off-plan property guide for Dubai.

Can joint owners or couples apply?

Joint ownership works only if the share is big enough. GDRFA's page says that where ownership is a share in jointly held property, the share must be worth at least AED 2 million. Cube says the same: "applicant share should be minimum 2 million".

Couples are treated differently. Cube says husband and wife can share one property, and if it is worth under AED 4 million, "only one person will be eligible to apply for the golden visa then sponsor the other person". Shares should be equal; if they are not, the larger shareholder applies. The marriage certificate must be attested by the UAE Ministry of Foreign Affairs and legally translated into Arabic.

Two friends or business partners buying a AED 3 million villa 50/50 hold AED 1.5 million each, so neither qualifies on that property alone. They may still qualify for the 2-year property investor visa, which Gulf News reported in April 2026 now needs a share of at least AED 400,000 per joint owner (sole owners have no minimum).

Worked examples: is this buyer eligible?

These examples apply the official wording above. They are illustrations, not approvals: DLD and GDRFA decide each case.

BuyerNumbersLikely answerWhy
Apartment in Dubai Marina, mortgagedPrice AED 2,500,000; 50% paid (AED 1,250,000)Not yetDLD asks for a bank letter showing AED 2 million paid. AED 1.25 million is AED 750,000 short.
Villa in Dubai Hills, mortgagedPrice AED 4,200,000; AED 2,100,000 paidYesPaid amount is over AED 2 million, with the bank's no objection.
Two flats, JVC and Business Bay, no mortgageAED 1,100,000 + AED 1,000,000 = AED 2,100,000YesSeveral properties in the applicant's name can be added together.
Partners 50/50 in an Arabian Ranches villaAED 3,000,000; AED 1,500,000 eachNoEach share is under AED 2 million. Both may qualify for the 2-year visa (share over AED 400,000).
Married couple 50/50 in the same villaAED 3,000,000Yes, one spouseCube: one spouse applies and sponsors the other.
Off-plan in Business BayPrice AED 2,200,000; 20% paidCheck firstValue is over AED 2 million, but the paid amount rule for off-plan is not on DLD's page.
Bought in 2019, now worth morePurchase AED 1,800,000; valued at AED 2,300,000PossiblyGDRFA and Cube may accept a DLD-licensed valuation certificate.

For the mortgaged Dubai Marina buyer, the gap is simple arithmetic: AED 2,000,000 minus AED 1,250,000 paid leaves AED 750,000 still to pay down before the bank letter can show AED 2 million. An agent who says "you qualify" because the price is AED 2.5 million has given the wrong answer.

What documents do you need for a golden visa property Dubai application?

DLD's investor service lists five documents:

  • Passport (Cube asks for a clear copy valid for more than six months)
  • e-Certificate of Title or title deed
  • Personal photo (Cube: to ICP's photo specifications)
  • UAE ID, if the applicant has one
  • Current residence permit, if any

Depending on the case, Cube also asks for: a developer's statement of account or a bank no-objection letter (off-plan or mortgaged), an official valuation certificate (when relying on market value), an attested marriage certificate (couples), health insurance from a UAE insurer, and national ID for nationals of Iran, Pakistan, Iraq, Libya and Afghanistan.

How much does the Golden Visa through property cost?

DLD's service page breaks the investor's 10-year permit down as follows (October 2026):

FeeAED
Medical examination700
Emirates ID (10 years)1,153
Residency permit (10 years)2,856.75
Dubai Land Department fee4,020
Administrative fees1,155
Total, investor9,884.75

Family members cost extra. DLD lists AED 5,774.50 for a family member's 10-year residence permit plus AED 318.75 to open the family sponsorship file, AED 5,774.50 for a parent's permit, and AED 100 for each additional sponsored person.

Worked example: an investor sponsoring a spouse would pay about AED 9,884.75 + 5,774.50 + 318.75 = AED 15,978 in government fees on DLD's figures, before health insurance and any extra per-person charges. Health insurance is compulsory and priced by the insurer.

Watch out: Cube Centre's own page shows AED 9,984.75 for a new 10-year property investor visa (AED 100 more than DLD's total) and AED 9,519.75 for a renewal. Tell buyers "about AED 10,000" and to check the amount at payment.

Worked examples of the Dubai property Golden Visa: AED 2.5M mortgaged with half paid is not yet eligible, AED 4.2M with AED 2.1M paid is eligible, two flats totalling AED 2.1M are eligible

How do you apply for the Golden Visa through property, step by step?

DLD says the investor service takes 7 to 10 working days. The steps, from the DLD and Cube pages:

StepWhat happens
1. Check eligibilityUse the eligibility check on Cube's site (dldcube.com) or ICP's Golden Residency Guide.
2. ApplyAt a DLD service centre (Al Manara Cube, Golden Cube at Dubai World Trade Centre, or the listed registration agents), or online through Cube.
3. Submit and payUpload or hand over the documents and pay by bank transfer, card or cash.
4. Medical test and Emirates IDThe medical examination is done at the centre; biometrics for the Emirates ID follow.
5. Receive the permitDLD sends the residence permit by email.

Three rules catch overseas buyers out:

  • Be in the UAE. DLD and Cube both say the applicant must be inside the country during the process.
  • Come yourself. DLD says only the applicant attends; escorts are not allowed and nobody can apply on the applicant's behalf. Cube adds that it does not accept PRO or power of attorney applications.
  • Existing residence. A buyer who already holds a UAE visa through an employer will have it replaced. ICP's process (reported by Gulf News in July 2025) includes cancelling the existing residency where one exists.

For buyers outside the UAE, ICP's guide says eligible applicants can be granted a six-month multiple-entry entry visa to come in and complete the process.

Who can a property Golden Visa holder sponsor?

ICP's Golden Residency Guide lists residence permits for spouses and children "regardless of their age", as well as for parents, and sponsoring domestic workers under the usual rules. Cube's page says up to three house maids and drivers, and that unmarried sons and daughters can be sponsored for the length of the sponsor's visa.

Family permits need their own paperwork, including attested marriage and birth certificates and health insurance (DLD).

ICP also says that if the Golden Residency holder dies, sponsored family members may remain in the UAE.

Can you live outside the UAE on a Golden Visa?

Yes, for longer than an ordinary visa allows. The u.ae portal says Golden Visa holders can stay outside the UAE for more than the usual six months that keeps a residence visa valid. Cube's FAQ goes further, saying that under an ICA update holders can stay outside for an unlimited time. The investor still needs valid health insurance for themselves and their family throughout the residency (ICP).

What happens if you sell the property?

GDRFA's Golden Residency service page says the property "may not be disposed of" during the 10-year residency period, and on a mortgaged home a lien is placed on it. The visa exists because of the property, so selling it removes the basis for it.

What the official pages do not publish is the exact procedure after a sale: whether the permit is cancelled at once, whether a replacement property of AED 2 million or more keeps it alive, or how long the family has. A buyer planning to sell, or to swap one home for another, should ask GDRFA or Cube before signing the sale. If the seller is abroad, our guide to selling property in Dubai from abroad covers the transfer itself.

Golden Visa vs other property visas in Dubai

VisaProperty neededLengthSource
Golden Visa, real estate investorAED 2 million or more; share of AED 2 million if joint10 years, renewableDLD, ICP, GDRFA
Retiree visa through propertyAED 1 million or more, paid (or AED 1 million paid on a mortgage), age over 555 years, renewableDLD retiree service
Property investor visaNo minimum for a sole owner; AED 400,000 share for joint owners2 yearsGulf News, April 2026, citing Cube

The 2-year route is useful for buyers in JVC, Dubai South or Arjan who will never reach AED 2 million but still want residency. The retiree route is for buyers over 55, and DLD lists its total fee at AED 6,984.75. For the wider legal picture, see our summary of Dubai real estate laws in 2026.

How should agents talk about the Golden Visa with overseas buyers?

The Golden Visa sells property, and that is exactly why agents get it wrong. A buyer who was told "you qualify" and then finds out at Cube that their bank letter shows AED 1.25 million paid will not buy from that agent again. Some habits that keep you accurate:

  • Ask three questions first: total price, how much is paid (or will be paid at transfer), and whose names will be on the title deed. Those three answers settle most cases.
  • Quote the threshold, not a promise. "The rule is AED 2 million in your name, and on a mortgage the bank must show AED 2 million paid" is accurate. "This unit gets you a Golden Visa" is not, unless you have checked their numbers.
  • Be careful with off-plan. Say the unit can count if it is AED 2 million or more from a registered developer, and that the buyer should confirm the paid-amount position with Cube or the developer.
  • Send the official links, not a screenshot. The DLD Golden Visa service page and ICP's Golden Residency Guide are the two to share. They change; your old PDF does not.
  • Say "about AED 10,000" for fees and point to the DLD page for the exact figure.
  • Do not process it for them. DLD says the applicant attends in person and Cube does not accept PROs. You can explain the process; the buyer does it.
  • Do not advertise "Golden Visa included" on a listing unless every buyer of that unit would qualify. A AED 2.1 million unit bought with a 50% mortgage does not.

Write down what you told the buyer. When a lead asks about the Golden Visa on WhatsApp, the answer you gave, the buyer's numbers and the date belong on the lead record, so a colleague who picks it up does not contradict you. In Majlis CRM, WhatsApp chats sit beside the lead, and the AI fills blank lead details such as budget from the conversation. It suggests reply drafts that the agent reviews before sending, so a visa answer never goes out unread.

Golden Visa interest is also a good qualifying signal. A buyer asking about it usually has a budget at or above AED 2 million and a timeline. Tag it, set a follow-up, and route these leads to the agents who know the rules. Majlis CRM's lead management keeps leads from Property Finder, Bayut, Dubizzle, WhatsApp and Facebook and Instagram lead ads in one pipeline, with response-time tracking so an overseas enquiry at 11pm Dubai time is not left until the next afternoon.

Frequently asked questions

What is the minimum property value for the Dubai Golden Visa in 2026?

AED 2 million, as of October 2026. It can be one property or several in the applicant's name, and on a mortgaged property the bank letter must show AED 2 million paid. Joint owners need a share worth AED 2 million each.

Can I get a Golden Visa with a AED 2 million property bought on a mortgage?

Not on day one with a typical mortgage. DLD's service page asks for a bank letter showing an AED 2 million paid amount and the bank's no objection. On a AED 2 million home, that means the loan has been paid off or nearly so.

Does off-plan property qualify for the Golden Visa?

Yes, ICP lists off-plan units worth AED 2 million or more from an approved developer. DLD's page does not say how much must be paid first, and reports conflict, so the buyer should confirm with Cube or the developer, who will look at the statement of account.

How much does the property Golden Visa cost in Dubai?

DLD lists AED 9,884.75 for the investor's 10-year permit (medical, Emirates ID, residency, DLD and admin fees). A spouse or child adds AED 5,774.50 plus AED 318.75 to open the family file, and health insurance is extra.

Can my wife and I both get a Golden Visa on one property?

One of you applies and sponsors the other. Cube says spouses can share one property, and under AED 4 million only one spouse is eligible as the investor. The marriage certificate must be attested and translated into Arabic.

Do I need to be in Dubai to apply?

Yes. DLD and Cube both say the applicant must be inside the UAE and must attend personally; agents, PROs and power of attorney holders cannot apply on your behalf. ICP can issue eligible applicants a six-month entry visa to come and complete it.

What happens to my Golden Visa if I sell the property?

GDRFA says the property may not be disposed of during the residency, so selling removes the basis for the visa. The exact procedure after a sale is not officially published: ask GDRFA or Cube before you sell.

This is general information, not legal or immigration advice. Rules and fees change; confirm your case with the Dubai Land Department, GDRFA or ICP before you buy or apply.

Sources

  1. Golden Visa application: Investor, Dubai Land Department, page updated 7 October 2026.
  2. Golden Visa application: Retiree, Dubai Land Department, checked October 2026.
  3. Property Investor Golden Visa for 10 years, Cube Centre (DLD's e-property residence platform), checked October 2026.
  4. Golden Residency Guide, Federal Authority for Identity, Citizenship, Customs and Port Security (ICP), last updated September 2026.
  5. Issuing a golden residence permit (investors), General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs Dubai (GDRFA), checked October 2026.
  6. Golden visa, The UAE Government portal (u.ae), updated 28 July 2026.
  7. Dubai Property Visa Guide 2026, Gulf News, April 2026.
  8. Dubai eases property investor visa rules: no minimum value for sole owners, Dh400,000 share for joint ownership, Gulf News, April 2026.
  9. UAE Golden Visa without a sponsor: ICP reveals 8-step guide for property owners, Gulf News, July 2025.
  10. Golden visas: UAE 'cancels minimum down payment' for property investors, The National, January 2024.

Keep reading